Hypocrisy in Gaming: Banned from Polygon, Jaydential Rises – Rate Your Journalists

As a video game blogger, I’ve come to realize we are all not perfect. Some of us strive to be the best we can be, some of us go out of our way to hurt others and give false reports.  Some of us speak out against the console wars, and then some of us write about the consoles we love. Some of us read other sites and reiterate it in their own words. You see there is a big problem with just that. Now I am no stickler for rules and I am all for being open and honest, but you have to give credit where credit is do, and stop using horrible work ethics.  I began writing this about 48 hours ago.  Since then I have heard a great response to my tweets, and one from the oddest of places.  That is why after giving Polygon the opportunity to review my banishment and review their article I’ve decided to post this.  Again, I don’t even know if that article is even on their site anymore as I no longer will support them as I no longer understand their motives.

hypocrite

I began writing this a couple days ago in regards to recent events going on in the gaming industry.  Popular websites including the gaming sites are reorganizing, shifting employees and even deciding to going off on their own ventures.  That’s when I came across a book about some of these issues.  This book, which I will not name, for the simple reason I won’t give the author that much credit, nor do I want to steer or lead others to it because I don’t understand his motives.  I will show all of you guys a little example or taste of whats going on.  Again, I couldn’t believe it.  The books author commits the very same hypocrisies he speaks against in his book.  He sells this book to us and then uses these same tactics himself.  This is someone who enjoys writing, and decided after seeing the recent trends in gaming, to write his or her own opinion about it, and it couldn’t be further from the truth.  To sort of educate others of what exactly is going on rampantly.  February 23, 2015, Nielsen.com posted a report on gaming titled simply, No Stranger to Video Game….  The internet swarmed to this report in ordinary fashion to secure the first translation of it.  The writer was simply trying to post an article he saw as being hot news, and gave proper credit to the source that led him to the original story.  He murdered the interpretation and entire story, all for traffic to his site.  This comes down to ethics and in Accounting they use generally accepted accounting principles (GAAP), you break these principles, you are held personally accountable.

The sources he used were vg24/7 and credit source for nielsen.com.  The VG 24/7 article. from what I could see upon my initial reading, was not the original but reported their interpretation correctly.  They used the correct reason, resolution, as the #1 reason for users buying the PS4.  The writer included images from that report, and then gives a completely wrong account and/or understanding of the report. Having worked for Nielsen and Scarborough Market Research in the past, I knew their report could and would have some decent information in it.  The report was short and to the point, which meant that only a few TRULY original articles could probably be written from it before things started taking on a mind of its own, sort of like a game of telephone.  It happens everyday and on many sites.  Citing your sources should be required anytime your using information that is received from someone else, and is not available to you from your own knowledge base.  You could basically use everything the writer says, if you do it correctly.  The writer must have interpreted resolution as power.  When in fact powerful was #4.  Its an assumption based on facts, yet the facts don’t align with the report.  Were you writing your article from another summary?  Like the movie multiplicity, you’ll never get an exact copy, and the further from the original the worse it gets.

I too, was mining for more qualitative data but was coming up with the exact same stories everyone else had.  So why should I, when I could simply share the link on my Blog, and move on.  These companies want ownership, even if its someone else’s work.  Remember, someone else worked hard for that data and deserves the credit.  Imagine how many people had to make thousands of calls in order for Nicole Pike to write this report.  I understand that its becoming second nature, but PLEASE do it right! A lot of game blogs/sites do it.  They share and post the same stories with a slight difference or change in wording and/or way its used.  Why?  To justify it as their own, when in fact your data doesn’t support it at all.  I get it! It worked in high school maybe even college, too!  That’s where things, go grey!  Have you actually written a thesis, or understand its concept? Common: Intro, Thesis, Supporting, and Conclusion followed by works cited in alphabetical order.  I’d even bet most people would let the works cited page (written either within the article after citing data and than listed again at the end) be out of order, maybe even left off entirely.  Just as long as they receive credit and a link back to the original.  A lot of hours go into some of these reports and then its stolen as if its second hand information.

hypocrite 3

So after reading that the writer had a short story on the gaming industries hypocrites, I decided to follow, support and continue gathering my notes for my own article.  Mind you, that is before all this happened.  It’s what led me to the writers’ article, which I got to through a link on N4G,  as to give the sites I support credit for the link, click and useful analytics.  Its a common technique used by blogger’s, tweeters, content creators, and what not.  It in a sense is a sort of an I follow you, you follow me type of thing.  Liking and subscribing to each others’ blogs/sites, sharing similar ideas, passions and aspirations.  Naturally, I was drawn to the topic and continued to read his stance.  I read his posts and comments and then decided to post on his article.  People must forget that as site owners or webmasters we have tools.  We can see how you got to our site/blog and  what you searched for to get there. Heck! some tools give so much data it would blow your mind.

Think #hashtags came out of left field? Nope! Its a marketing tool and genius at that. We tag the things we post or like, which in turn will combine a data warehouse of sorts so other users can simply search for that #hashtag and connect to others.  Well the value in that holds can at times be worth more than you could imagine.  All our data and digital footprints are there, and stay there. Do you think you can delete it?   My point to all this, was the fact that I could easily see his other writings and point out just how hypocritical he was being, but I will stick to the personal one.  I immediately began reading into the reasoning behind his post and his book, asking myself questions.  Was his post moderated by Polygon?  Why did he do it?  Could he have been impacted by the very company he works for?  These are very valid questions, Polygon.  He contributes to your site and wrote his own book, of course I was intrigued.  In fact, I followed him on twitter and continued on my way.  That’s when I found it! His article referencing the recent Nielsen report.  Sorry for no direct link but I’m banned now from polygon for this reason.  This is what i see when i visit Polygon.

You have been banned from Polygon.

Hello RjK311jR,

“and the issue with not knowing how to read reports is obvious.. how polygon allowed this is amazing.. it clearly states here:

http://www.nielsen.com/us/en/insights/news/2015/no-stranger-to-the-video-game-most-eighth-generation-gamers-have-previously-owned-consoles.html

that resolution is the top reason, and people thinking the console is more powerful is a reason for both consoles… way to write a tilte or click but hey its what we have come to expect… enjoy the last few years yall have left.. maybe even try going back to your roots… cause this is junk.. sorry its my opinion and im free to that.. stop twisting a legitimate report into click bait.. Writers on all websites, if you think the gaming industry doesn’t take notice of these articles, your sadly mistaken, good luck showing where ever your dreams brings you with this.. they would look at you and say son where did you get more powerful and why did you say playstation.. this is crap and should be completely edited to fit truth, and….”

You signed up to make a bad comment and that’s against the community guidelines:www.polygon.com/pages/community-guidelines

“First post” rule: All of the behavior listed above? You could say we’re not fond of it. We’re even less likely to tolerate it if you made an account on Polygon specifically to engage in it, since it tells us that you aren’t here to contribute in any meaningful manner. If your first post breaks the rules above, we’ll usually go ahead and issue a ban and open a dialogue.

With this in mind your account has now been banned. You may appeal this decision by emailingmoderators@polygon.com.

Regards, 

–Mod Team | Polygon

You can read, but not participate on Polygon. You must acknowledge your banned status by pressing the button below.

From <http://www.polygon.com/>

Its your footprint, if that’s really what you want or stand for, then so be it.  Today Polygon managed the impossible.  Upon finding the book, I grew into a bigger supporter because they were against hypocrites in gaming. Then managed to turn that stronger supporter/fan  into a banned “troller,” because I stated a fact, and they couldn’t take a negative post.  Powerful was not #1 for anything so saying so in your title is for traffic, clicks and misrepresents the source data. Easy! Simple as that!  While I was re-editing my post to explain further, I received that ban screen! How? Really? They say they would try and attempt dialogue with me but never did.  If they did they gave no warning and no chance for me to attempt a civil debate.  I was editing my post and never got it cause BOOM a ban screen in front of me now..  All for voicing my opinion on the matter.  I wasn’t trolling like others may have been, rather I was trying to enforce their own stance on the matter, simply showing his hypocritical work. Maybe you should have read why I wrote that and do the research and source check your information properly. You would see I was being critical in the hopes Polygon would edit the title and change the body to reflect the source material.  The same truths that were in the reported source.  They BANNED me because I pointed out they were being hypocrites too.  Aren’t they trying to take a stand against this crap?  I still have yet to hear from them on the matter and reached out for a response.   In fact, it has now been just under 55 hours and I have sent PMs, Tweets and an email to the moderators.  Did you guys see where it asks me to confirm and accept the ban in order to continue to use and read their site?  So let me get this straight.  So don’t talk bad about Polygon being hypocrites because  only they can do it? And you want me to continue to use your site? So you want to USE ME! And earn money from me viewing, sharing, liking and commenting? I don’t think so bud! Polygon has completely destroyed their image in my eyes and I could careless if I can’t access their site!  Like I said, you can get it else where.

What is really going on?  Why won’t they respond to me?  Why was I silenced on the matter, without a voice?  Why do they ban people for making constructive criticism? Why  do they make you accept a ban without giving any chance whatsoever to have a talk on the matter.  That’s a quick way to silence me and many others, rather than have a civil debate.   This is exactly what the writer is talking about in his book.  I do moderate my comments here on my Blog, but not for followers/supporters.  Its to prevent childish, bashing on fellow gamer’s trying to have a civilized debate or conversation, a.k.a. trolling.  Feel free to have whatever view you want on my site.  Once you have proven to respond, without trolling or spamming, you can comment all you want.  Feel free to write what you want, when you want. I love it all!

It’s your footprint, if that’s really what you want or stand for then so be it. Polygon, I grew into a bigger supporter/fan because of that stance but was quick to see the parallels in your own stories.  It angered me! A loyal fan for years, although recently adding my account so I could comment.  I finally decided to voice myself and I get hit with this ban.  Oh well! I’ve come to accept it! Sadly, I have checked and the ban still stands but mark my words I won’t ever press okay and accept that ban.  I am done supporting trash, and its obvious they don’t give two shits about any of us! Nope!   I had to stop and take action against it.

That’s when @Jaydential reached out to me via Twitter.  Jaydential is a new service being developed.  You can find their campaign on www,KickStarter.com. Geared towards rating, reviewing, and judging sites, their writers/contributors and the content they provide.  They look for verified sources, misrepresentations and I believe they are onto something here.  How exactly this will be handled is another question, and I will be in further contact to let you all know.  At the time he was the only one who favorited my tweet calling out Polygon’s current hypocritical state.  Has anything like this happened any of you?  They ban their supporters?  Which means they don’t know who their fans are or how to read the data from the traffic. All because I pointed out their hypocrisies.  I still have yet to hear from them on the matter and reached out for a response as they ask me to in order to discuss the situation and a possible ban lift.  To no eval.  What that means is they want to monetize my clicks and shares, and could careless if I comment.  Think about that guys!  Basically, they don’t want to be called out on their shit. I don’t think so, and I’m appalled by these actions.  Since they banned me, I wrote this and saved it, just in case they wrote a response while I was writing this. Nope, Nada, Nothing!  I provided the copy of that letter via copy and paste ad have a print screen available if any of you are interested.

This is a prime example of writing an article from another article without checking the source material, which is research and based on a factual qualitative data.  He wrote how the source article stated, that buyers of Sony’s PlayStation 4 console bought it for the #1 reason, being more powerful.  When in actuality, it was the 4th reason listed under the PlayStation 4 and the 3rd reason listed under the Xbox One (Pike, Nielsen)- Instead of the dash close the parenthesis with a period, and you have your basic works cited w/in the article, maybe hyper link the text).  That’s besides the point.  The original report was also free of feeding into the console wars, too.  Polygon has become a major player in online video game journalism and reporting.  I could look to them at anytime, many times throughout the week, months and even year.  I never had to post anything really.  Nor had I ever had a reason to because I was happy with the content.  So why feed into the drama, console wars, or trolls?  Why write a title that doesn’t relate to the source material?  The gaming industry has become a big game of telephone, basically, depending on when  and/or who you get your information from, its truth, accuracy and facts within gets skewed.  Many bloggers share the same story, but change a few words here or there.  In your own words? Really? So where is the data and source information that says this?  Your image shows differently.  You see the world is built on these perceptions, and as we grow we are learn them and discern right from wrong.  Who decides that?  Who is to say those perceptions are right or not?  I hope I’m helping you all to understand my frustrations.  We can’t allow this to keep occurring because its these very reasons we are looked at as incompetent, lazy losers with no lives.  In fact, that probably pisses people off too, but its reality.  The gaming industry is flooded with crap.  Sites like IGN, Polygon, and other top sites are starting to need to use other means to make revenue.  Leading to the growth in shady and unethical tactics in journalism throughout the internet.   Sites like, Gaming Bolt gear towards quantity rather than quality, use misleading titles, aka click-bait, to get traffic.  That does not mean there aren’t any good articles or stories on these sites.  It could be a select few, but further research would be needed.  I am in know way attacking Gaming Bolt, but the types of articles they have been writing lately are just that, traffic, click-bait, lies, deceit, misrepresentation and cheats.  I felt writing this to make you guys aware of the issue, and hope to bring about better reporting on all of our parts.  Game reporting doesn’t have to be click vs click, quantity vs quality, but passionate articles written from your heart and sharing the latest with your fans/supporters.  It should be a mine of data, for gamers, to draw their own conclusions on the things they love.  I don’t need to be told that I am a bad boy if I don’t like something.  I’m an adult, just ask that I not comment and I won’t.

To reiterate the writer sells a a book on amazon, towards the games industry hypocrites.  He recently wrote an article about Playstation and improperly reported it.  It was based on a report from Nicole Pike at Nielsen.com.  This article, again, can be seen here:

Console-purchase-factors Nielsen.com – No Stranger to the Gameslifetime-ownership

The original source for this article contained information in regards to brand loyalty and retaining users.  Users of 7th generation consoles and 8th generation of consoles were questioned about the gaming consoles they chose to buy.  It contained the top choices and reasons for each of the three companies (Nintendo, Microsoft and Sony) and why they chose to buy it. Users gave numerous reasons for each console purchase decision and Nicole simply listed them in order in a nice image.  The same image that was used by the writer of the Polygon article.  Again, resolution was the top reason for users buying the PS4.  Not because of it being more powerful, although it was listed, but under both Xbox and PlayStation.

The Problem:   Polygon shows us just how its inner workings work!  Catchy Title (based on false reporting), Feed into drama and the console wars (ban those with valid points and who speak against us), and contradict a book you wrote.  So should I go against what I stand for?  Its all right there in front of us.  Things are changing.  The article in question is:

Polygon:  PS4 #1 Reason to buy is more Powerful, or something to that extent, but i will not revisit to get the proper title or hyperlink.  If any of you guys care to share it with me, I’d be happy to copy and paste it into the article.

In the story he  knowingly wrote his title in error, to force clicks, gain traffic into his site unethically.  Was he advised to do this? I don’t know and don’t care.  What really got me was the fact that I found this guy because he wrote on a topic that I find extremely relevant right now in this industry.  I am not an insider and I am not working in the industry at this time.  I’m simply writing my Blog, as a passion project.  I’m not a “troll” nor a “first comment basher.” <- Wow, Really!  I am a gamer!  I work hard for the things I love, own the things I need, and save for the things I want.  I’m fed up with the sh!t! I’m sorry its wrong!  Nielsen, better yet, Nicole Pike (Nielsen Reporter), wrote a wonderful report and simply shared that information with the world. Not for us to trash and twist into our own words. To read, understand, and draw our own conclusions, questions, and answers. After seeing that the person who titled the article for clicks and then misstates the information within the original sources material.  This is misrepresentation and is completely wrong.  This is Polygon!

Only recently have I begun to Blog myself.  I had to teach myself everything, from scratch!  It can be very hard and extremely stressful.  I am starting to realize, how tedious you must be.

I’ve been gaming since my father gave me his Atari 5200 when I was 4.  Again, I am doing this to follow my passions and achieve my dreams.  Its the actions and words, of the few, that continue to make rifts in the gaming industry. Blogging sites and webmaster tools have enabled users to earn multiple streams of revenue all from the safety of their own home.  Ad-Sense and Ad-Words used in correlation with analytic’s and you have a powerful avenue for mining data for your site, market research and even revenue.  As much as we hate the advertisements we have to accept/allow them, in turn, the user expects not to be bombarded with ads jamming their screen and slowing down your site.  Consider disabling your Ad-blocker on the sites you frequent and maybe even clicking an ad here and there.  Its great etiquette and it doesn’t hurt you any and pays the content provider for advertising.  Sites can make money using different techniques, some use clicks and some views.  Knowing which to use and how people end-up on your site is valuable information for your Blog or site.  The nerve, a site like Polygon, to have to misreport and twist the wording in order to get traffic.  No! Stop it!  Stay with quality and do away with trolls, click bait, and spammers.  Parent companies of these sites should think about trimming their own portfolios and manage less sites.  Is it easier to entice gamers with click-bait more than any other state?  Traffic, clicks, and ad revenue are keys to making a profit online.  Bad news stories and reporting builds a horrible portfolio for anybody.  Would you be proud to show this to a future position or job opportunity?  For the non-tech savvy, that means its a numbers game. Sites are now rushing to be the first to post the same story first! And its more and more crap. It would seem the corporate hands that be are taking hold,  Again, the recent rise in users using ad-blocker, trolling, giving false reports, and click-bait titles, many of us wish we could do more about it. This is different? No, Polygon is selling out and instead of continuing with what made them stand apart in the first place, they are becoming one of the industries worst purveyors of  internet gaming trash.  Who knew I couldn’t voice my opinion and thoughts on the the matter.

This is Polygon!  They claim they are changing how gaming journalism is done and when I, a supporter of their views, writes to point out their recent hypocrisy on their site, they banned me!  No warning, nothing! Then having the nerve to ask me to click okay to approve the ban and to continue reading their site. Oh you mean you still want me to view and click your site and support you? How about stop being a hypocrite and edit that post to justly credit the hard work Nicole Pike has done at Nielsen, in regards to the gaming industry. These are the exact poisons and viruses in the industry that you speak of BUDDY!  How do you write and sell a book about games journalism being tainted and then do it yourself?  I went from being a background supporter, for Polygon, to a banned outcast of sorts.  Yes, they need us guys!  More than we need them.  I’m ashamed to see and hear everything that’s been going on lately.  So I’m taking action.  I reached out to Polygon and its moderators for a response and will update you all as soon as possible.

UPDATE:  Its now March 1, 2015, and Polygon, has still not reached out to me.  What’s the reasoning behind this?

As for twitter the twitter user who’s name is Michael Barbera (@jaydential), and he may have a solution to this very problem.  His service would support rating journalists and making them liable by checking their resources accurately and to the best of their ability.  Readers and supporters would be able to provide useful ratings on the journalists they read.  This led many users and I, to immediately start thinking of ways people might take advantage of a system like this.  Submissions and false reports have to be verifiable.  Or else could lead to adverse effects and completely nullify what they are striving to accomplish.  How will Jaydential be monitored and supported?  Could users rate themselves?  What is stopping other’s from misusing the service.  What other areas could “opportunists,” both positive and negative use?

I was only trying to call you out on your own mistakes. Its called constructive criticism.  Maybe you haven’t heard of it before.  Again, its constructive criticism, and if you can’t learn accept that most gamer’s are educated, witness what you’re doing, and are fed up with it as well. Please stop! Everyone! I’m not saying the console wars need to stop, although, it does sound really odd and even childish reading some of the comments people have.  You really want to see changes?  Take action! Actions speak louder than words. Stop supporting sites that promote crap.  Call out articles that are copied and then edited  improperly.  We can do it if we make it known and show facts. A lot of us work hard for what we have and save for the things we want and need.  Gaming, technology and entertainment has always been a passion of mine.  It has allowed me to reach my dreams in the industry, and reach further.

Lets stop sites from making a mockery of others hard work and reports.  As a whole, we can help others share our favorite links, posts, and stories with accurate and honest information, leading to less regurgitated trash. I share on my Blog and post on others. I give others an opportunity to do the same, and ask that we unite against the real hypocrites in gaming!

BoBGaming FB COVERhypocrite 4

If you agree that things need to change I encourage you to check out Michael Barbera and Jaydential.  Jaydential is currently on Kickstarter and will provide its users a unique way to rate the journalists they commonly read. It seems to be an extension of some sorts that allows you to rate each article as you read them.  Making a database of journalists around the web and giving them a rating and credibility.  I’ve included their video below and believe it can help if done right. Want to see a difference and change? This, I encourage you to check out, the Jaydential. I believe with the support from journalists every where we can help change how things are reported online.  If you agree please like, share, follow, and support! Thanks guys!

Jaydential is on Kickstarter – Rate your Journalists! – Click to support!   hypocrite 2

2 thoughts on “Hypocrisy in Gaming: Banned from Polygon, Jaydential Rises – Rate Your Journalists

  1. Hiya! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you know how to make
    your site mobile friendly? My blog looks weird when browsing from my iphone 4.
    I’m trying to find a template or plugin that might be able
    to resolve this problem. If you have any recommendations, please share.
    Many thanks!

    Like

    1. Hey you do know that your question was marked as spam… But as a new Blogger myself I will attempt at helping you but would ask what program are you using? I prefer wordpres.com, as its what i taught myself with, and many of their themes are mobile friendly.. hope that helps

      Like

Comments are closed.